Monday, 14 January 2013

Virgin Media Awards - Doctor Who Nominations

"Doctor Who" and its cast are, once again, well represented in this year's Virgin Media Awards Nominations.  Voting is now open and the following categories are of interest:

TV Show of the Year:

Doctor Who is up against Dynamo: Magician Impossible, The Walking Dead, Moone Boy, Fresh Meat, Homeland, Sherlock, Geordie Shore, Downton Abbey, The Thick Of It, This is England 88 and The Great British Bake-off.  Very, very tough category!

Best Actor:

Matt Smith faces off against Andrew Lincoln, Ben Whishaw, Benedict Cumberbatch, Chris O'Dowd, Damian Lewis, Emun Elliott, Jack Whitehall, Jim Caviezel, Kevin Costner, Max Greenfield and Peter Capaldi.

TV Moment of the Year:

Amy and Rory's exit is against Brody's suicide vest dilemma (Homeland),  Clare Balding interviews Bert La Clos (Olympics), Commentators cheer on Mo Farah (Olympics), Deb catches Dexter in the act (Dexter), Emmerdale live episode, Heather Trott's murder (Eastenders), Tucker's concluding speech (The Thick of It),  Olympics Opening Ceremony, Rick's showdown with Shane (The Walking Dead), Rylan's blubbering (X Factor) and Sherlock's impossible jump (Sherlock)

It's probably worth casting a vote for BBC One in TV Channel of the Year too.  At the moment, we're behind in each award - although, Matt is closing in on the leaders in Best Actor.

Go and make those votes count:  Virgin Media Awards